Up, Up, and Away!

I had hoped to have an articles on how I’ve framed  superheroes in D20 Modern up today but there wasn’t enough time. As per SOP, I was overthinking it and will have to rewrite. It’s frustrating to me but I know that it will ultimately make me a better writer in some mythical, far-flung future. At the very least, I’ll learn to organize my thoughts better beforehand.

So then, Superman renounced his citizenship to the USA and I immediately thought of the excellent Superman: Peace on Earth

Then I also  remembered this:

Full Frontal Nerdity by Aaron Williams

Not the first or last time that Supe's politics have been questioned.

[FFN is one of my favorite online strips!]

Continuity issues aside, it’s hard to quantify what defines a comic book hero sometimes. But I believe that what defines Superman is his character and not his powers. In fact, I would go so far as to suggest that it is because there’s almost nothing that he can’t physically achieve or resist that his character is so important.

I’ll have that other, gaming related bit up as soon as I can. for now, I’m off to play D&D! I’m taking off my alter-ego to pretend that I’m a super-hero/adventurer for a little while.

~ by Hunter Rose on April 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

