I’m DMing again soon!

So in addition to my writing projects, I am now looking at running three D&D games before the end of the year.

Albany Game Day, September 3rd

Albany Game Day is a semi-annual event. I will be running “something Fourthcore” in the morning slot. I should have plenty to choose from by then: several weeks of Daily Grind 4E (Fourthcore conversions of Jason Buhlman’s Weekly Grind), C1: Crucible of the Gods, and SND02: Fane of the Heresiarch.

Excitement is high for this one. I ran the best game of my life there last spring. The bar has been set high pretty high, but I have the best possible source materials to run a game from!

Nerd Vice

The first game is for a mix of new and experienced players over at http://www.NerdVice.com I know @ViraGunn from her stint with me at http://www.JustPressStart.net. I rode shotgun for the first two eps of her podcast while she was at JPS and we’ve stayed friends as she moved on to do her own thing.

I’ve decided to go with Pathfinder and will run Jason Buhlman’s Weekly Grind). We’ll be running the game over Google + for its ability to have more than two webcam users in the room at once. (I like the idea of using webcams to watch your fellow players act out.) Pathfinder is more familiar to the veterans than 4th edition and the SRD is freely accessible online for those that don’t yet have D&D 3.0/3.5 or the Pathfinder book.

I’m pretty excited about this game. I’ve run games over e-mail before and using live chat will be new. I can distribute materials pretty easily online in real-time too.

The only thing that I am figuring out is whether I want to take the time to learn how to implement a virtual tabletop to play with a battle-mat. My current thining is that I can do without it and that will reduce overhead, allowing the game to play at a more natural pace.

But if anyone has a suggestion for a free/ridiculously inexpensive platform, I’m all ears.

This game is slated to start sometime in September.

Heermance Memorial Library

I’ve been running an open game day at the local library twice a month all summer. Competing with the glorious summer weather has been difficult but I have a trio of three teenage sisters who attend every time, and they are all interested in D&D.

We’ve played Wrath of Ashardalon several times and I’ve started to talk a little bit about how it is different from playing an RPG. They are all signing up for adventure and now I’m at a loss as to what to run for them.

Well, that’s not entirely true.

For the library game, I will run 4th edition due to its simularity to Wrath of Ashardalon. The library doesn’t have any D&D books on the shelves, so I’m limiting them to what I have: the three core rulebooks from launch. As for the game itself, I’m torn between a 4E adaptation of the story in Wrath of Ashardalon or going back to Mossberg (my own creation) and fleshing that out a bit more.

Being that this will be a game for people who haven’t role-played before, I feel that I can allow myself a little more latitude at the table. Usually, I obsess over DMing and striking just the right tone and hitting the right pace at the table. I’m sure that those concerns won’t be absent, but I won’t be embarrassed at making mistakes in front of new players either. Mistakes are part of teaching the game.

This game will start next month, I think. It depends on how quickly we can get my minimum of four players.

~ by Hunter Rose on July 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

