FTDM: Kludge_01

Now that Match 01 is complete, I thought that I would share my Fourthcore Team Deathmatch character.

Kludge was originally conceived as a 16th level character to play Revenge of the Iron Lich and before I really understood what Fourthcore was. When the opportunity came to test maps though the FTDM PbP, I jumped at a chance to scale Kludge down to level 1.

In Match 01, I didn’t approach the character build with all the seriousness and resources that the format demands. My team-mates helped me polish Kludge but it may be that we had missed something (other than a background) that would make him even more effective.

Ultimately, we were defeated my the massive size of the board. We built a fast team based on high-damage melee while our opponents fell back upon high defenses and damage reduction. We couldn’t consistently close the gap and co-ordinate attacks to take down our opponents.

You can read up on team WetwORCs performance in the PbP collected here.

Kludge

Neutral Half-Orc Stone Fist Monk 1

Languages Common, giant
Passive Checks Intuition +11, Perception +16 (low-light)

HP 25, Bloodied 12, Surges 8 (6 hp)
Defenses 18 AC, 14 Fortitude, 15 Reflex, 13 Will
Bloodied Half-Orc Resistance
Resistances Mental Bastion (included), Unarmored Defense (included), Unarmored Agility (included)

Init +4, Speed 6 (Swift Charge)
Unarmed +6 melee vs AC (d8 +3 Str, offhand)
Crane’s Wings +4 melee touch vs Fortitude (1d10 +4 Dex, push 1 square)
Move: +13 Jump as with running start, not limited by speed
Five Storms +4 close burst 1 vs Reflex (each enemy, 1d8 +4 Dex)
Move: You shift 2 squares.
Options Furious Assault, Stone Fist tradition, Swift Charge, Takedown Strike

Abilities Str 16, Con 13, Dex 18, Int 10, Wis 12, Cha 11
Trained Skills Acrobatics +9, Athletics +8, Endurance +8, Perception +6
Feats Unarmored Agility
Items Longspear (+2 prof, d10 dmg, 10 gp, 9 lb., Polearm, spear Reach)

+2 Endurance, +2 Intimidate
Half-Orc Resistance: The first time you are bloodied during an encounter, you gain 5 temporary hit points.
Low-Light Vision
Swift Charge: You gain a +2 bonus to speed when charging.
Furious Assault: (see power)

Takedown Strike: (see power) Mercenary background from DDi article.

Armor Proficiency: Cloth
Weapon Proficiencies: Club, dagger, monk unarmed strike, quarterstaff, shuriken, sling, spear
Implements: Ki focuses, weapons with which you have proficiency
Bonuses to Defense: +1 Fortitude, +1 Reflex, +1 Will

Ki Focus
Mental Bastion: +1 to Will
Unarmed Combatant: +3 proficiency bonus to unarmed attacks, 1d8 damage.
Unarmored Defense: While you are wearing cloth armor or no armor and aren’t using a shield, you gain a +2 bonus to AC.

Unarmored Agility: You gain a +2 feat bonus to AC while wearing either cloth armor or no armor.

[Powers01]

Encounters: Encounter powers are the meat-and-potatoes of FTDM as they refresh every time that you die. When your PC is only standing for an average of two rounds, you don’t get to use those at-wills as often as you would think.

Open the Gates of Battle was the key power here. I was deliberately gunning for the untouched PCs on the map to gain a free, extra 1d10 damage. Combined with flurry of blows, Furious Assault, and Takedown Strike, I could deal 3d10 + 1d8 + 14 damage (total: 18-52) and knock the target prone if I hit (+4 melee touch vs Reflex). As an melee touch attack capable of using an implement, I could deliver the strike through my spear, taking advantage of its reach. At worst, I could bloody an opponent if I could hit them.

At-Wills: Crane’s Wings and Five Storms gave me some flexibility between 1:1 fighting and taking on a cluster of combatants. The Stone Fist flurry of blows gave me a little auto-damage under certain circumstances, which was somewhat useful.

Daily: Steel Avalanche dealt decent damage but as a one-shot power with no lasting effects, it felt pretty lackluster.


The longer I participate in Fourthcore Team Deathmatch, the more ridiculously powerful 1st level 4E D&D PCs look. The rules perform well for tactical combat but there is so much to consider that it is easy to see how other elements of the game can be overlooked.

I consider myself a good player who can play pretty much anything put in front of me and is fairly knowledgable of the rules. In the context of FTDM, however, my rules-fu is evidently lacking and it makes me feel as if my strengths lay in other aspects of the game.

In my head, Kludge has the same swagger and bravado that I tried to inject into his older self. The over-the-top descriptions on the PbP suited the character of my PC perfectly and much fun was had in playing to the crowd.

For Match 02, I created Umbra. She is a Drow and an eagle shaman. I buckled down on combat mechanics and tried to contribute to the party strategey. The personality came second so I’m still exploring the attitude and the appropriate visuals to pair with it even though the match has already begun.

~ by Hunter Rose on December 16, 2011.

2 Responses to “FTDM: Kludge_01”

  1. Umbra’s awesome! I think the eagle shaman combined with CA strikers is gonna easily outshine the radiant mafia.

    And Kludge wasn’t bad at all – one of the drafts for Frankenberry was essentially a revenant Kludge.

    • Kludge was good, but I had a hard time moving him into an effective position. Some of that was due to questionable decisions, such as making a run for the +2 implement to counter high enemy defenses. Some of that was due to the size of the board. I may have done better by building a ranged striker.

      I think that we have a shot in Match 02. Obviously, we sought to lock down the platform and you guys had the means to squeeze through. We’ll see how flexible everyone’s strategies are in the coming rounds. By round 3, we should know who has the upper hand in this.

      I waiting to see how you all like my feat choice for Umbra! I’m such a stinker!

Leave a Reply

