Tabletop Day RotIL D&D Run Sampled by *PBS*

This blog has always been a place for me to work out my thoughts on gaming through writing. It’s been an honor to know that someone (anyone, really) finds what I have to say interesting.

However, had an audience ever been the point of this exercise, I can die happy now.

Yesterday, I received the following in my YouTube inbox:

Footage Request for PBS Offbook
Hey!

We’re a YouTube series from PBS titled “Off Book” and we explore cutting edge art, internet culture and the people who help shape that. We are currently working on our next episode, a 7 minute short documentary on Dungeons and Dragons.

It’s a highly positive piece that aims to garner more attention to this awesome, growing scene, the history behind it, and the way it has changed our culture for the better. Here’s a sample of a broader work we did on Fandoms earlier this season: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9Zum7azNIQ

We’d love to draw footage from all of the great YouTube videos fall around the US and the world, and we found a great video of yours that we’d love to feature: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GigyOpxCgU

We would feature 2-5 clips from the video, each clip averaging about 2.5 seconds each. This would serve as b-roll to show the audience what the work behind Dungeons and Dragons looks like. Unfortunately we don’t have a budget to license the footage. We would, of course, link to your video and provide credit in the description.

If you would prefer that we not feature your clips, please just let us know before we get it out and we’ll be sure to replace them! We want to be diligent and respectful in our process.

Thanks!

The PBS Off Book Team

My first reaction was that this wasn’t legit. How could it be? Also, I had already released the footage under a Creative Commons license, so it’s not like that actually had to ask for my permission.

So, it turns out that the PBS Off Book team works fast. The D&D episode is up and my video is prominently featured. I even have two speaking clips! I’m very happy with the piece.

I’ve still no idea how they came across the video.

I can’t describe how it feels to be on a PBS show, even a little webisode like this. I have enormous respect for the organisation and grew up watching a lot of their programming. I feel as if I’ve “made it” somehow. It feels good.

The full Revenge of the Iron Lich run can be found here. It runs a little over 4 hours.

~ by Hunter Rose on June 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

