Numenera

I hadn’t planned on getting involved with Numenera. I already have a number of potential RPG projects backed up at the moment and I’m rarely one to follow a project because of a designer’s name. Providence interceded, however, when Monte Cooke and Shanna Germain came to town.

My FLGS is Kirwan’s Game Store. The store owner (another Steve) contributed heavily to the Numenera kickstarter, earning a visit from Monte and Shannon. I know Steve from back when I used to own a game shop, and he offered to seat me at Monte’s table to play the game, which I accepted about of curiosity.

Then, my good friend Lucas lands and interview with Monte & Shanna. Lucas is the producer for a video game blog and podcast, Just Press Start, but he also runs the local board game group and has been looking to expand the focus of his blog to include them. Lucas asked if I would like to conduct the interview instead, which I also accepted.

You can find the interview here, preceeded by a few thoughts on the game from Lucas and myself. To say that I was nervous is an understatement. I knew who Monte was, but I didn’t follow him or his career and I had to do a ton of reading to catch up… or so I thought. I.. over-prepared… I also hadn’t been in front of a mic for JPS in a long time and this was the first interview that I have conducted in person!

On the day that Monte Cook Games arrived. Monte and Shannon held a lengthy Q&A followed by a signing. (All the store copies are signed by the way, so contact Kirwan’s if you want to snag one.) Luke and I got our interview just before the dinner break. Monte and Shannon then ran 1 full session of Numenera each before meeting with the local paper and then, I imagine, collapsing from sheer exhaustion! (It was a looong day for all of us.)

Luke was so impressed by what he heard in the Q&A that he decided to buy Numenera, his first RPG purchase since D&D 2nd Edition! I gave up my seat at Monte’s table so Luke could play instead, which was just the thing to tip him into running the game himself. The first session of which is here:

Since I’m playing, I’ll be posting the videos here, just as I have for everything that I run. I hope that you enjoy them!

~ by Hunter Rose on October 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

