The New Edition

I’m back! Which is to say I’ve always been here, gaming, but I haven’t been posting because G+ has mostly eaten the blog.

My return to this space follows my return to YouTube. I’m running Expedition to Castle Ravenloft using the 13th Age. I’ve spent some time learning the system by converting the adventure. This is still D&D in all the ways that matter to me. It’s familiar ground in terms of story and tone, but the pacing is a little faster due to the mechanical differences. 13th Age has pieces that encourage a more player-defined setting than actual D&D, so that takes some of the work off my hands when it comes to details not already in the adventure.

Playing 13th Age for the first time at PAX East 2014 with Philippe Me’nard, @chattyDM, running. Picture by Amelia Von Haden, @meliavir, who is also a righteous slayer of lizard-men.

Playing 13th Age for the first time at PAX East 2014 with Philippe Me’nard, @chattyDM, running. Picture by Amelia Von Haden, @meliavir, who is also a righteous slayer of lizard-men.

I’m really excited to be running this game. I ran it once back in my D&D 3.5 days, when my group bought it for me to run. We all still quote from that game to this day. Revisiting it now, I realise how far that I’ve come as a DM and it’s a real treat to see that reflected in the sessions so far.

The decision to use the 13th Age was an easy one. I was saving this event for the new D&D edition, but 13th Age pushed all the right buttons for me. It has everything that I wanted in a new D&D edition without the wait (and expense). It is also instantly familiar to 3E & 4E players, making it a very quick transition for my available player pool.

I’m particularly impressed with how quick and easy it is to convert and make monsters. I feel as though they took some of the best lessons from 4E on monster design and made it even easier and more transparent for DMs looking to roll their own.

My plan is to post the actual play videos here as I did for the Marvel HRP game. I’ll include game materials for some of the more interesting things that were introduced in the sessions and a few odds an ends that I make along the way. If there’s a call for it, I’ll produce audio-only versions again too.

~ by Hunter Rose on July 28, 2014.

Leave a Reply

